International Workshop on Emerging Technologies for LTE-Advanced and Beyond-4G

In conjunction with IEEE GLOBECOM 2012, Anaheim, California, USA




Call for Papers

Keynote Speakers

Workshop Program





Workshop Chairs

Call for papers



Charlie (Jianzhong) Zhang, Samsung Electronics, USA

Halim Yanikomeroglu, Carleton University, Canada


The wireless cellular network has been one of the most successful communications technologies of the last three decades. The first wave of the fourth generation (4G) networks, namely the Long Term Evolution (LTE) networks based on the 3GPP release 8 standard, is being deployed around the world today. The standardization process for the 4G LTE-Advanced (3GPP release 10) was in 2011; the first deployments are expected to start as early as next year. As the 4G technologies are being tested and deployed in many countries, efforts to define Beyond 4G (B4G) have been under way in 3GPP since 2011, and will continue into the next few years as part of the ongoing Release 11 and the upcoming Release 12. In the meanwhile, the European Union 8th framework programme (EU FP8) will start in Jan 2014 and will span the 6-year period 2014–2020; the FP8 projects will likely boost the B4G research activities.


There is an emerging consensus in the 3GPP community that we have exhausted most of the low-hanging-fruit ideas at our disposal, and need some fresh and disruptive ideas to maintain the innovation momentum, which in turn allows for the mobile wireless industry to continue to create value. This workshop will be a venue to brainstorm on and to identify the emerging concepts, technologies, and analytical tools for B4G cellular networks. Towards that end, this workshop aims to bring together leading researchers in both academia and industry, and to provide a forum for researchers from diverse backgrounds to share their views on what B4G should be and to have an open dialogue on the future of wireless research and its impact on LTE-A standard. The goal is to share the latest status of the LTE-A standards, and to identify key B4G technology drivers that can deliver significant capacity, coverage and user-experience benefits.


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to the following:

·         Novel radio access network (RAN) architectures

o    HetNets with overlay of high- and low-power nodes

o    CoMP (coordinated multi-point) transmission and reception

o    Distributed antenna systems

o    Advanced relaying, user terminal relaying

o    Small cell deployment, femtocells, picocells

o    Terminal intelligence

·         Advanced radio resource management (RRM) techniques

o    Interference management, interference awareness

o    Inter-cell interference coordination (ICIC, eICIC)

o    Artificial intelligence in wireless communications

o    Congestion management

·         Emerging technologies in physical layer

o    Interference-robust air interface

o    Higher-order massive MIMO

o    Active antenna systems (AAS)

o    Multiuser communications

o    Network information theory

o    Novel modulation and coding schemes

o    Beyond OFDM(A)

·         Novel services

o    Enhanced voice and video

o    Machine-to-machine (M2M), machine-type communications (MTC)

o    Point-to-point (P2P) / device-to-device (D2D) communications

o    Telepresence

·         Energy efficiency

·         Spectrum

o    Aggregation of intra and inter-band carriers for both FDD and TDD

o    Cognitive radio and dynamic spectrum access

o    Adaptive radio access techniques

·         Prototype and test-bed for emerging B4G technologies


Papers should be submitted using EDAS (


The authors should follow the IEEE guidelines that apply to all GLOBECOM submissions when preparing their contributions (maximum paper length: 5 pages with 10-pt font).



Technical Program Chairs



Huseyin Arslan, University of South Florida, USA

Lingjia Liu, University of Kansas, USA

Tommy Svensson, Chalmers U. of Technology, Sweden

Wei Yu, University of Toronto, Canada



Keynote Speakers



Giuseppe Caire, U. of Southern California, USA

Sungho Choi, 3GPP SA Plenary Vice Chairman


Panel Program



* Kumar Balachandran

   Expert, Wireless Networks, Ericsson Research, USA

* Arunable Ghosh

   Lead Member, Technical Staff,  AT&T Labs, Austin, USA

* Angel Lozano

   Universitat Pompeu Fabra (UPF), Barcelona, Spain

* Peiying Zhu

   Senior Director, Wireless Research N. America, Huawei


Technical Program Committee



Raviraj Adve, University of Toronto, Canada

Abdulkareem Adinoyi, Saudi Telecom Company, KSA

Jeffrey Andrews, University of Texas at Austin, USA

Anass Benjebbour, NTT DoCoMo, Japan

Ho Ting Cheng, Huawei Technologies, Canada

Merouane Debbah, Supelec, France

Qinghe Du, Xi’an Jiaotong University, China

Peter Gall, Qualcomm, USA

Tolga Girici, TOBB Economics &  Technology U., Turkey

Ekram Hossain, University of Manitoba, Canada

Minyi Huang, Carleton University, Canada

Zhubo Huang, Sprint-Nextel, USA

Witold Krzymien, University of Alberta, Canada

Jungwon Lee, Samsung R&D Center, USA

Wan Lei, Huawei Technology Ltd

Teng Joon Lim, National University of Singapore

Apostolos Papathanassiou, Intel Corporation, USA

Parimal Parag, ASSIA Inc., USA

Peyman Razaghi, Qualcomm, USA

Antti Tolli, University of Oulu, Finland

F. Richard Yu, Carleton University, Canada

Melda Yuksel, TOBB Economics &  Technology U., Turkey


Important Dates


Full Paper Submission:

Acceptance Notification:

Camera-Ready Submission:


15 June 2012

15 August 2012

15 September 2012

3 December 2012